Applications for all scholarships have now closed.

The GPRA Scholarships Committee will review applications and advise of your outcomes in due course.
If you have any questions, please contact

Dr Debbie Stach
Northern Territory GP Registrar of the Year Award

This award celebrates the life of Dr Debbie Stach, who died tragically in a car accident in 2004 soon after completing her GP training with the former NTGPE.

It recognises ongoing commitment, passion, and leadership to general practice in the NT.

The $10,000 award is presented annually to one GP registrar enrolled in the AGPT training program in the NT who has demonstrated:

  • an outstanding approach to medicine
  • a commitment to improving Indigenous health outcomes in the NT, and
  • an outstanding approach to professionalism in their work, education, and training environments.
Ada Wilmadda Parry
Aboriginal Health Scholarship

Ada Wilmadda Parry was one of the first Cultural Educators in the NT, and has been a Cultural Educator for more than 30 years.

Ada advocates the importance of cultural training for GPs who work in the NT, and is motivated to ensure Indigenous families do not have to struggle to be understood culturally and linguistically by medical practitioners.

The scholarship provides $5,000 for up to two GP registrars in the AGPT Program who demonstrate a strong interest in improving Indigenous health, and improving cultural and linguistic understanding between Aboriginal patients and general practitioners.

This is a self-nominated award.

Professor Alan Walker
Paediatric Scholarship

Professor Alan Walker is regarded as a champion of medicine in the field of paediatrics in the NT. He was the head of paediatrics at the Royal Darwin Hospital from 1967 to 1996 and contributed significantly to the establishment of NTGPE in 2002, including as its first Chairperson of the Board.

This scholarship is for GP registrars in the NT who have an interest in further education in paediatrics, and who have demonstrated high standards of professional behaviour throughout their education and training.

The scholarship is valued at $5,000 for up to three GP registrars on an annual basis.

This is a self-nominated award.

GPRA Northern Territory
Rural and Remote Scholarship

This new, annual scholarship is for prospective NT-based GP registrars who demonstrate a strong commitment to further specialised training in remote locations (MMM6-7) within the NT.

This scholarship provides $20,000 for up to two GP Registrars over a two-year period.

This is a self-nominated award.